Driver Licensing for Teens

What is my state’s licensing process? When can my teen get a learner's license? What is an intermediate license?

Georgia uses a multi-stage driver licensing process for teens. This system allows them to gradually gain exposure to complex driving situations, easing them into life behind-the-wheel over an extended period of time.

Instructional Permit

At the age of 15, teens can apply for an instructional permit in the State of Georgia. They must pass the written and vision tests, present a signed school attendance form and have a signed parent consent form.

With an instructional permit, teens can only drive with a licensed driver aged 21 or older who is providing supervision and sitting in the front seat.

Intermediate/Provisional License

When a teen turns 16, they can apply for an intermediate license if they: A) have possessed an instructional permit for at least one year and one day without any traffic violations; B) completed 40 hours of practice driving (six of which must be at night); C) passed a behind-the-wheel driving test; and D) have taken a vision test and provided proof of practice driving time.

Legal guardians must accompany their teens to the OMV to sign the application form or their signature must be notarized on the document. In addition, teens must have completed a driver education course approved by the Department of Driver Services. Those who do not complete an approved driver education course cannot obtain an intermediate license until age 17.

Overall, teens with intermediate licenses may not drive between midnight and 5 a.m. For the first six months, they are prohibited from driving with any passengers in the vehicle, other than immediate family members. In the ensuing six-month period, teens are not allowed to drive with more than one passenger under the age of 21 (with the exception of immediate family). After 12 months with an intermediate license, teens are restricted from having more than three non-family passengers under 21.

Full License

At age 18, teens can obtain a full unrestricted driver's license if they have had no major traffic convictions during the previous 12 months. Such violations include driving under the influence, drag racing, reckless driving or any violation that adds four or more penalty points to the driver's license.

Consider using a parent-teen driving agreement to help enforce licensing rules that the state and your family set. An agreement helps you and your teen understand the rules of the road and sends a clear message that driving is an earned privilege that your family takes seriously.

Licensing Authority

The Georgia Department of Driver Services oversees licensing for all drivers in the State of Georgia. The GDDS conducts the written exam and road test needed to get a driver's license. It also provides study materials to help your teen get ready for the exams.